Wiley_Karen_rgb_400x500Karen K. Wiley, MSN, RN, CEN, is the 2017 President of the Emergency Nurses Association (ENA) Board of Directors. ENA is the specialty nursing association serving the emergency nursing profession through research, publications, professional development, and emphasis on quality and patient safety.

Wiley is a practicing emergency nurse in the Emergency Department of CHI Health Immanuel in Omaha, NE. She has worked in the emergency department for over 20 years and previously practiced in critical care. Wiley has served on numerous national committees including Behavioral Health, Emergency Preparedness Wellness, Lantern Awards for exemplary emergency departments, the institute of Quality, Safety, and Injury Prevention, Finance, and the Executive Committee. She was Chairperson of the 2009-2010 Emergency Department Violence Work Team and in 2015 a member of the American Nurses Association (ANA) Incivility, Bullying, and Workplace Violence Steering Committee.

She has been active at the local and state level since 1999, serving as the 1999 Nebraska State Secretary, and 2001 and 2010 Nebraska State President, as well as on numerous committees.

Wiley has demonstrated a passionate and enduring commitment to advocacy. She served as Chair of the Nebraska State Council Government Affairs Committee for 10 years, and successfully fought, over the course of four years, in collaboration with the Nebraska State Nurses Association, for the Nebraska law making assaulting a nurse a felony. For her sustained and inspiring efforts, she was the recipient of the 2012 Nebraska Nurses Association Outstanding Achievement in Nursing Award and also the Image of Nursing Award.

Wiley earned an associate degree in nursing from the College of Saint Mary, Omaha, NE, the Bachelor of Science degree from Creighton University, Omaha, and a Master of Science in nursing administration from Nebraska Wesleyan University, Omaha. She is a certified emergency nurse and a member of the Nebraska Nurses Association, the American Nurses Association, and Sigma Theta Tau International.

Term as President: January 2017-December 2017
Term as President-elect: January 2016-December 2016
Term as Secretary/Treasurer: January 2015-December 2015
Term as Director: January 2012-December 2014

Working to promote safe practice and safe care.